About Us

Our Philosophy

Anchor Recovery is a supportive community of peers with lived experience dedicated to providing addiction recovery supports. At Anchor, we believe in multiple pathways of recovery. Anchor members encourage each other to find new ways of living through meaningful relationships, health and wellness activities, social events, and a sense of community. Anchor Recovery Community Centers are located in Providence and Warwick. Our community outreach teams strive to meet people where they are at.

Learn More About Anchor Recovery Community Centers

We’re entirely run by people with lived experience with addiction recovery and our allies who have experience with the recovery journey.

History

Anchor’s original location in Downtown Pawtucket was opened by The Providence Center (TPC) in December of 2010. At that time, national statistics ranked Rhode Island as the state with the highest rate of substance use related problems in the country, and research pointed to a significant gap in treatment. Many Rhode Islanders went from receiving intensive residential or daily substance use support to the opposite extreme, a monthly clinical appointment with little community support. Under the leadership of TPC’s Director of Recovery Support Services, James Gillen, and Associate Vice President of Addiction and Recovery Services, Holly Fitting, Anchor was able to fill that void, providing people with a network of peers and recovery-oriented programming.

In January of 2013, Anchor opened its second location in Warwick, and outreach programs Anchor ED (Emergency Department) and Anchor MORE (Mobile Outreach Recovery Efforts) began in 2014 and 2015, respectively. Since its inception, Anchor has become a national leader in the peer recovery movement, and the destination for thousands of Rhode Islanders looking for recovery support.

In December of 2018 Anchor moved to a temporary location inside the Jim Gillen Teen Center at 1280 North Main Street in Providence. In October 2020 Anchor Recovery Community Centers re-opened in our new home at 310 Reservoir Avenue Providence, RI.

Meet Our Leadership

Melissa Bernier - Manager of Anchor Community Center Warwick

Melissa started working at Anchor as a peer recovery specialist in 2017. She was promoted to the Manager of the Warwick location in 2018 and is also a trainer of the Recovery coach academy. She is pursuing her degree in substance use disorder and is also working towards obtaining her LADC. Melissa feels very passionately about helping others.

Mike O'Neil - Senior Manager of Anchor Recovery
Sylvie Miranda - Manager of Anchor ED

SyMiranda@CareNE.org
(401) 889-5775

Megan Perry - Manager of Anchor More

MegPerry@carene.org
(401) 479-0700

Gary Saint Laurent - Community Engagement and Special Events Manager

Gary is an experienced manager of Volunteers and Special Events with a demonstrated history of working in the non-profit organization management industry. He has worked with organizations such as WaterFire Providence, New England Aquarium, Amos House Special Events, and PechaKucha Nights Providence. In 2013 he graduated with a Bachelor’s Degree focused in Sports, Event, and Entertainment Management from Johnson & Wales University.

Meet Our Staff

We've been there. Let's get you here.

Christie Fredette

Employment Specialists

cfredette@carene.org

(401) 889-5778

Nelson Gonzalez

Peer Recovery Specialist
NeGonzalez@carene.orh
(401) 889-5779

Kelly Gregson-Walsh
Phoebe Harrington

Peer Recovery Specialist & DOC Peer Recovery Specialist

PHarrington@CareNE.org
(401) 615-2191

Mikkie Hass

HRSA Training and Internship

Mhaas@carene.org

Shannon Hitzenbuhler

Peer Recovery Specialist & ED Peer Recovery Specialist

SHitzenbuhler@CareNE.org
(401) 889-5777

Jenn Karboski

Peer Recovery Specialist

JKarboski@CareNE.org
(401) 889-5780

Liz Lopez
Hector Sanchez

Peer Recovery Specialist
HSanchez@carene.org
(401) 889-8690

Tim Taylor

Peer Recovery Specialist

TiTaylor@CareNE.org
(401) 889-5781

Ronnie Walsh

Peer Recovery Specialist & ED Peer Recovery Specialist

RWalsh@CareNE.org
(401) 615 – 9964

Rhonda Warren

Anchor More

RWarren@CareNE.org
(401) 536-7036